Why are there no water fountains? 9/11 Run

Today officially began my training for the marathon.  Just over one month ago I ran the Providence Half Marathon.  But since then I really haven’t run all that much.  Armed with that knowledge weighing me down and on the verge of creating this blog and dedicating myself to running the marathon, I went for a run on Labor Day along the Muddy River and the Emerald Necklace.  It was a beautiful Labor Day, clear blue skies, not a cloud in sight.  It was also grotesquely humid.  I ground out six terrible miles, wound up with a sunburn, and pounding headache.  The entire time I kept thinking “Why can’t Boston have a few water fountains along the way?”    So, if anyone from the parks commission is reading this, get in touch with me – I’ve pinpointed a few select locations that could serve the needs of the running and recreational community.

Today, though, my run went much better.  Yesterday I dedicated myself to running eight miles.  So, this morning I set off.  About one mile in on  Comm Ave it became obvious that I wasn’t properly hydrated.  Terrible cramps set in, but I just pushed through and by the time I hit the BU Bridge they were gone entirely.  This week I’m going to make an investment in a water bottle I can run with. I would like to give a shout out to the fine folks at MIT, who, in their infinite wisdom, elected to install a water fountain at their boathouse.  I ran along the river down Memorial Drive.  Running along the Charles always reminds me of just a few of the reasons why I love living in Boston.  Not only are there hundreds of other people running, but there are people rowing, sailboats tacking back and forth, kayaking and canoeing, even having people wave from the duck boats as they pass is awesome.  Being on the Cambridge side you can look over to the cityscape and see the Pru and the Hancock with the financial district rising in the distance.  Boston is now my home and seeing all these things makes me feel a part of it.  I missed the cutoff to take the Longfellow Bridge over to the Boston side, so I ran down and crossed over at the Museum of Science.  Part of the Esplanade by the Hatch Shell was shut down as a memorial benefit for 9/11 was being set up.  A little further down by the lagoon an enormous American flag with the names of all the victims was spread on the grass.  It amazes me that ten years have passed since 9/11.  There is a piece of me that still connects with the kid who was sitting in driver’s theory when word came over the loudspeakers about the attacks.    I continued running along the river and as the BU Bridge came into view it occurred to me that I didn’t feel like stopping.  So I ran passed the bridge and up to the Larz Anderson Bridge that crosses over to Harvard.  Along the way my Achilles tendon started tightening up and I then wondered if maybe I was pushing too hard and should have run home, but I changed how I articulated my left foot and like magic it loosened right back up.  Ran passed Harvard Stadium into Allston, down Harvard Ave, and on to my apartment.  My eight mile run turned into an eleven mile one that I pulled out in an hour and thirty eight minutes.  This translates into 8:49 splits.  Not too shabby.

Tomorrow starts the registration for 2012.  There are two charities I’m going to apply to run for.  As with all the charities the BAA supports, they are incredible organizations, and I would be honored to run on behalf of either of them. One team has an incredible training program already in place along with a number of social events paced from now until race day.  The other team has some inspiring partnerships that I would really like to be involved with.  I will keep you all up to date once I hear back from them about my acceptance and pass along all the details.

Song stuck in my head:  Kid Things – Counting Crows (first eight miles),  Whatever It Is – Zac Brown Band

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

