Say, do you remember dancing in September?

Yesterday I applied for to run on behalf of a charity for the Boston Marathon.  I don’t want to jinx the application process.  So as soon as I hear back from them I will pass along all the details to you.  Needless to say, I’m very excited for the opportunity to partner with this particular organization, so if anyone from there is reading this:  I’m your guy.

Since about April I’ve been contemplating running from my office back to my apartment.  Today I finally did .  It’s almost exactly five miles from where I work to my new apartment’s front door.  So, to make it five miles I had to run just a little bit farther than necessary and then double back.  I left work exactly at five o’clock, precisely when the rest of Boston was leaving their offices downtown.  From the Financial District, down passed the Common and all down Boylston was an obstacle course.  Though, weaving in and out of the post-work crowd literally kept me on my toes.  I cut across to Newbury and then ran all the way up Comm Ave.  I had brought my phone with me not only to help me keep accurate track of my time, but to also take a picture of the inevitably overly crowded train I would be happy I wasn’t on.  As you will notice, there is no such picture on here.  That’s because I outran the T.  Now, I know to most of you familiar with the Green Line (the B Line in particular) this may not come as a shock.  But, I really figured that once I was away from Kenmore a train would have caught up with me.  But no.  There was no train ahead of me in the distance.  No train behind me barreling down the tracks.  Just overcrowded BU stops.  In fact, I made it in thirty minutes today what took me 45 minutes yesterday on the train.  This is the best commute I’ve ever had in Boston:  5.01 miles in 41 minutes working out to 8:11 splits even with all the stops I had to make at lights and at cross streets.  I even got to see the Verndale Street basset hound that was my neighbor when I lived there.

Song stuck in my head:  September by Earth, Wind, and Fire.

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

