The Leaves are Falling Back East

It’s been a fairly productive week on the marathon front.  After using the word ‘routine’ last week in a post, I felt disgusted with myself.  So each Tuesday and Thursday, I’ve been running completely different and varied routes.  On Tuesday I ran all around the streets of Brookline, just taking random turns and enjoying momentarily being lost before coming out on a street I knew.  On Thursday, I ran a very similar route to the now infamous Muddy River run, but instead of turning around, I ran a loop onto Comm Ave and then back to my apartment.

On Tuesday night I consulted with my friend Katie, who is my running guru.  Years ago, when Katie (she goes by Kate now) would strike out on runs more of more than a few miles, I dubbed her Crazy Katie (for a myriad of other reasons as well).  Well, now she’s got what she always wanted from me – miles. This is a girl who ran in Vibrams before the world knew what they were.  A woman who has competed in multiple marathons, and when that wasn’t enough, when she was living in Africa competed in the Comrades Ultra Marathon. She is one of the few people who would chastise me for never running enough, and as I always do initially, I ignored her.  But, now I trust her for more than just advice on running, although, that’s what Tuesday night’s call was pertaining to.  She was worried that I may not be eating properly – which, was not a problem as I devour everything in sight and sometimes that’s not enough.  But, she then gave me some other cross training advice aside from running.  I grumbled on the phone, but when I went to the gym, she was absolutely right.  You know those hip abductor machines at the gym?  The ones you only ever see women using?

Yeah, those. She told me to get on them and use them – they aren’t just for women – that they work muscles not normally stimulated by running or other leg exercises.  For some reason guys choose to associate them with women and are too proud to use them.  But, I can tell you, they literally kicked my butt.

The other tip she gave me was to take a day off and do nothing.  This is common sense.  Your body needs to rest and recover.  But, it’s common sense that I’ve been ignoring.  The fact of the matter is, I’ve been having too much fun running and going to the gym is part of my social life.  After again grumbling, I promised her I would take today off.  But, my sister called and said she wanted to go running – -so I couldn’t say no.  This weekend is fantastic weather-wise, and I just needed to get out there.  I ran over to my sister’s apartment, met up with her and her husband, and took off down to the Muddy River.  It was great to just be running with other people.  Pace doesn’t matter.  Distance doesn’t matter.  We looped around and then I ran home.  Katie, if you’re reading this, I promise I won’t go running tomorrow.

This week I also set up my fundraising page for the Run for Research.  All you guys need to do is click the Help Support Me! Page right above and then go to my personal page.  Anything, no matter how much or how little, you can give is greatly appreciated.

As part of my diet, I created a hybrid Tuna-Egg Salad this week.  It’s delicious and loaded with protein.  Throw it on some 12-grain bread with some cheese and basil and it can’t be beat.

2 hard boiled eggs, diced.

2 cans of flaked tuna.

Just enough onion, chopped.

Half a pickle, diced.

A teaspoon of capers.

Enough dollops of mayonnaise.

Blend in a bowl, and you have enough salad for about three lunch-sized sandwiches.

Here is a picture of my sister and I at the first 5K we ran together back in 2008.  I shamelessly stole this from her blog, which you should look at here.

Song stuck in my head:  Don’t Change Your Plans – Ben Folds Five

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Experience, Fundraising, General, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Leaves are Falling Back East

  1. Katie says:

    Though I do appreciate and am humbled by your feature of me in this post, I am going to smack you when I see you. I can’t believe you ran on your rest day!

  2. Katie says:

    Or, I got my date wrong… my bad. Go Graham 🙂

Leave a Reply

