Go Liver!

Hey everyone!  I know it’s been a while since my last update on my heroic running of the Run For Your Lives 5K and I wish I could say I have been up to more.  But that would be untrue.

After returning from Baltimore my right ankle started to bother me. It never became swollen or felt truly painful, but it was becoming increasingly tighter the morning following runs.  So, rather than risk injury, I took a week off and then started slowly ramping back up last week.  Starting next week I’m going to get back on my regular schedule.  In just a little while I will be running to the City Sports at the Chestnut Hill Mall to pick up my volunteer information for the Chilly Half Marathon in Newton on Sunday.  I really wanted to run this race, but alas it was sold out.  However, this race is sponsored by the charity I’m running for, American Liver Foundation.  So, if I can’t run it, the least I can do it help out the ALF and all those that are running.  Tomorrow morning I will be up around dawn or so to help direct runners and cheer them on as they start the race. I’ve never volunteered at a race before, so I’m curious to see how I will feel being a participant on the other side of the race course.

This past Wednesday I attended the kickoff party for the ALF.  I’m really excited to start training with the team, which will be around 250 people.  I had no idea the team was that large.  I also found out that the ALF was the very first charity that the Boston Athletic Association allowed to field a charity team for the marathon.  Next year will mark the 25th anniversary of that first team.  I was able to finally meet many of the people I’ve been in touch with over the last few months and had the opportunity to meet quite a few of my teammates.  Many of these runners are returning participants and already have strong bonds to one another having endured training with each other all last season.  Everyone is so energetic and welcoming; I’m really looking forward to being part of what many of them have already experienced.  As I mentioned before, the team is pretty large so they break the team down into a smaller groups so as people can get to know one another more intimately.  I met my team, or ‘lobe’, leader Wednesday night.  We chatted for quite a while, but then we started to run out of first time meeting conversation.  Somewhere during our ‘what we’re doing with our lives’  conversation she mentioned that she once wanted to be a teacher, I said ‘so did I!’  I asked where she had taught, and then she mentioned she had student taught in college.  Following the natural progression, I asked where she had gone to school, to which she said ‘oh, a small college in Pennsylvania, you probably haven’t heard of it’.  I said try me.  She said Gettysburg College!  I took out my old school ID. Turns out she’s an alum who graduated ten years previously.  Gettysburg being Gettysburg, not much was different or had changed between our two experiences.  Last night my roommate (who is a friend from college) and I were watching a college basketball game that was taking place on an aircraft carrier for Veteran’s Day.  The aircraft carrier has a crew of just over 5,000.  Brad pointed out that that’s double the size of our college.  So, it’s more probable for you to randomly meet someone who has served on this aircraft carrier than for two Gettysburg grads to run in to one another.  Pretty crazy, right?

 

Alright, now that my waffles are all settled, I’m heading out to pick up my volunteer info.  There is 156 days until the marathon, why don’t you donate to my cause by clicking here!

 

Song stuck in my head — Dear Chicago — Ryan Adams

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

