By this time next year….

I realize it’s been a while since my last post…but, you know, Christmas, holidays, all that.  Remember I punched it at the end of the Yulefest 5K?  Felt awesome at the time.  Not so much the next day.  Sensing a pattern here?  You would think I would learn.  So, I took a week off from running over the holidays.  I planned on doing an epic Hopatcong run on Christmas morning.  That never happened, I decided to see what a week’s worth of additional rest would do for my Achilles.  And it seemed, seemed…like it had worked wonders.  I started running to Washington Square last night to meet up with Ally and Megan and run six miles.  Started running—no pain!  Nothing!  Usually there’s a bunch of pain to start with and then it goes away.  Nothing this time.  Then, I noticed two girls barely moving what appeared to be an extremely heavy box.  I stopped and offered to help.  Turns out one of the girls had walking pneumonia.  I wound up carry this heavy box that contained an entertainment center up two flights of stairs.  After that my Achilles didn’t feel so great.  I’m planning on following my running plan for the rest of this week and see what happens.  If I’m back to where I started, I’m taking another week to week and a half off and never being a good Samaritan again.

Other than that, Peter gave me Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running. It’s family tradition that when we give books for occasions we always inscribe the date and a little message.  Peter’s read:  “By this time next year you’ll already be a marathon runner.”  Which is pretty crazy.  A year can feel so long and so tangible at the same time.  I can almost get the sense of this time next year, but I don’t want to think about it too much.  So much can happen, so much unexpected has already happened.  Today is the first day that started to feel like winter and it’s a long winter ahead.


I started reading the on the Acela back to Boston on Monday.  Before I moved up here I took the train a number of times to Boston. In order of preference I prefer 1)Driving 2)Taking the train and 3)Flying when it comes to traveling back and forth.  While flying is infinitely faster (total flight time: 40 minutes) there’s the whole getting to the airport, going through security, boarding, waiting, then that 40 minute flight time, landing, scurrying through NWK, getting picked up, and then a 40 minute drive home.  So, at the end of the day it winds up taking just about as much time, except with a lot more moving parts.  Driving I tend to just like for the sole purpose that I can jam out in my car on the way down.  It’s still a long drive at 4+ hours on a good day, but I’ve done it so much it feels like a commute.  I have my favorite stops along the way and it’s always good to give my iPod a workout..  But the train – there’s relaxation, you get a nice comfortable seat, can kick your feet up and read.  Or, you can plug your computer in and get work done.  Or not do any work.  And it’s quiet.  I tend to grab a seat on the quiet car of the Acela just to avoid any screaming children or people who don’t understand that personal conversations on the phone can be heard by everyone.  I also noticed this time around that the café car serves Dogfish Head.  I really like the concept of grabbing a beer and enjoying it while I contemplate the countryside speeding .  But, just can’t bring myself to do it in practice. I don’t know why.

I hope everyone had a great Holiday Weekend – If I don’t post beforehand, I wish all of you a great start to the New Year!  And, as always, if you’re still in the spirit of giving (and you should be), please take a moment to make a donation to the ALF here and help me run the Boston Marathon!

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Experience, General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to By this time next year….

  1. Lara says:

    I didn’t know that was Peter’s inscription to you. I love it! It’s also very true – and strange, but great!

Leave a Reply

