The Green Eyed Monster

“O, beware, my lord, of jealousy;
It is the green-ey’d monster, which doth mock
The meat it feeds on. That cuckold lives in bliss,
Who, certain of his fate, loves not his wronger:
But O, what damnèd minutes tells he o’er
Who dotes, yet doubts, suspects, yet strongly loves!”

~Iago, Shakespeare’s Othello

Iago was a contemptuous lying little bastard, one of the most brilliant, evil and frustrating of all characters in Shakespeare.  But, for a brief moment here, he actually gives a sound opinion.  The first part is pretty easy to get.  We’re all familiar with the association of jealousy and the color green (this is a concept much older than Shakespeare, colors often being emblematic of the ‘humors’ that were associated closely with moods and temperament).  However, the second part, the part that starts with the cuckold, Iago hits paydirt.  Essentially what he is saying is that a husband who knows his wife is cheating can live happily.  However, the man that merely suspects his wife is cheating is in limbo between love and being angst and anxiety ridden.  You may find yourself asking what this has to do with running.  Well, let me tell you.

My left tendon was jealous of my right.  My right tendon has been receiving special attention since November.  I’ve iced, stretched it, talked about it, written about it, suffered through the pain of tendinitis.  My left just kept plugging along…that is, until this past Saturday.  But, before I go into that.  Let me fill you in on some other things.

I finished my first 30+ mile week, clocking 31.64 miles last week.

On Tuesday Ally and I finally took on Summit Ave. and Corey Hill.  Previously I’ve only successfully run up this hill once before, I doubled my success rate twice in one night running a total of five miles with two hill repeats.


On Thursday did the 9 mile Crossroad Run.  Around Boston College I thought to myself my legs feel really strong, I finally think my fitness is getting to where it should be.  The last 4 miles I think I finished in sub 8 minute pace.  I shouldn’t have thought that.

On Friday I went to The Brigham (where Ally works) to have my feet x-rayed and do a check up on my tendinitis.  After a thorough evaluation by the PA, she confirmed that my tendinitis was in full swing on my right, but that it did appear as though my left may be developing some symptoms (so, you’re telling me  that my self -diagnosis of a nerve issue was wrong? Yes, exactly).  I heard her consulting the doctor outside the paper thin door.  Definitely hear the phrase “should not be running” get thrown around.  But, I’m already beyond the point of no return. They prescribed some physical therapy, check-in in 6 weeks, and told me I would ‘get through’ this marathon training.  Not entirely the rosy outlook I was hoping for.

Saturday roles around and with it came the first real winter weather.  Ran 12 very slow miles with the Liver Team.  Around mile 6 I knew something was happening.  A stretching pain that started just below my calf right where the tendon begins.  I made it back to Equinox, and shortly after I showered a very familiar pain had set it.  This was not as debilitating as round one.  But, still, I knew I had to take care of it right away.  So, I stretched, have been stretching, and haven’t run since.

I’m fortunate because I know two things (here is the loose tie-in to the above quote) 1) I knew what was happening immediately, unlike last time.  2)That I will be able to run through the injury, though it can be challenging at times. No angst.  No anxiety.   I’m hoping to be running again by tomorrow night, the soreness and pain are gone from my left tendon and it also never became inflamed like my right – good signs, I hope.

So, there’s your update.  I feel like this is turning into a primer for all the things a person wouldn’t want to happen while training for their first marathon.  But, if it was easy it wouldn’t be worth it.  Right?  I really wanted the title of this post to be “This is where the magic happens” referencing the x-rays of my feet.  We’ll save that one for another time.

Want to make my prognosis better?  Help donate to a cause that never gets injured and always inspires, just click here to send some love and money my way for the American Liver Foundation!

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Experience, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

