Super Sunday 5 Miler Recap

So, the last week of January was a bit rough.  To be honest, the whole month of January was a bit rough.  I feel like I made a lot of great improvements paired side by side with some set-backs and disappointments.  I had some runs where my legs felt like concrete.  I had more runs where I never felt better of stronger followed immediately by the news of my impending left Achilles tendinitis and then said tendinitis actually setting in.  To cap off the month I came down with a fairly aggressive case of food poisoning which zapped my energy and will to live.  I did finish the month with a grand total of 86.84 miles.  I was hoping to break 100, but hey, I’ll take it.

So, what up February?!  Let’s do this!

The February running season got started this last Sunday with RaceMenu’s Super Sunday 5 Miler(this was also my first race as a member of the RaceMenu team).  I ran the Super Sunday 5K back in 2010 and cajoled my sister into joining me.  This was the first in now a storied tradition of me forcing my sister to run freezing cold races with me.  At the time I pr’d that 5K in 2010 with a time of 23:27, but that was before succumbing to becoming part of that cult called runners.  In addition to the usual running crew I’ve been with lately, my friend from when we were carefree kids on Lake Hopatcong in our teenage days, Carla, also came down for the race.  She lives just north of Boston and is relocating to California, so this was one of the last chances I’d get to see her before she heads out.  Ally and I barely made it to the starting line from the bathroom line during the National Anthem (sorry, America) but we did make it and wound up pretty close to the front of the pack.  The race started and we were off.  My goal time was 35:00 flat.  Having never raced 5 miles before, I figured I was conditioned enough to run 7 minute miles, but wasn’t going to try and kill myself, just run my own race.  The first mile marker came at mile two, which whether this was by design or accident, was great – it made me feel like the race was almost over.  I passed the 5K bailout and kept pushing through Cambridge.  I felt like I was moving a good pace, but figured I was running somewhere in the sevens but not at or under seven.  I relatively know what 3 miles feels like and when the end of a race is coming up, but it was really hard to tell with a five miler, I kept wanting to push a bit harder, but was unsure if this would be too soon and I would burn out.  Turns out I should have floored it.  By the time I realized how close I was to the finish, there was very little time or ground to make up.  I crossed the finish line staring in disbelief at the clock – 33:44 (official time 33:42).  I not only beat my goal time, I trounced it.  Even more exciting is that my time at the 5K mark was 20:32.  Sub-20 minutes has long (as in for about 8 months) been my goal, but it now feels like a tangible goal and not something that can only be striven for.  There is blood in the water and the sharks are circling – sub-20, I’m coming for you!

Check out that ambition, baby, just look in his eyes....

After the race I managed to meet back up with my sister (who also finished the full five miles!  Can I get a Whoo Lara?  Whoo Lara!) and Carla.  After scrambling to grab our free beer we headed over to The Cambridge Brewing Company for some well deserved lunch and beers.  I came back home and took my pre-requisite, post-race 2 hour nap and then watched the Super Bowl.  This may be optimism or shear arrogance, but I’m calling February a comeback month.  The marathon is a mere two months away, I can do this!

Wait, the Marathon is only two months away!?  Now is the time for action my friends!  If you’re looking to help me make February an epic comeback month it starts right here, right now!  The American Liver Foundation needs your help (and, I do, too!) to help raise funds for research, treatment, prevention, and education of liver disease!

Get Amped Up!

I just want to give a quick thanks to everyone at RaceMenu and all the vendors and sponsors that made Sunday a fantastic race!  Awesome start to the year.

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in Experience, General, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

