It’s All Happening!

First off, I’m sorry I haven’t been writing as much lately.  You would think that as it’s coming down to the final stretch I would have so much more to say about how I’m feeling, what I’m doing, and what my expectations are.  And, there is!  But, I’ve just been on the go a lot lately.  There’s been traveling, working (way too much working, but there’s light at the end of the tunnel, and a very bright light!) and then there’s been training.

But, this morning I looked at the calendars on my wall.  I put these up when I first very excitedly received my welcome packet from the Run for Research American Liver Foundation Team.  The marathon  seemed so far off at the time.  Even as the weeks passed, x’s outnumbered blank squares, miles were tallied, and the winter that never was passed, the marathon never seemed so real as it did today, just a week away.  I can remember last Monday.  It still feels tangible, a recent memory.  The marathon is still a notion, and idea, a feeling in my stomach.  And it’s crazy to think that a week from now, I will have already finished(keep your fingers crossed!), will be having dinner with my family and friends, and the memory of typing this will be that – -a memory, a tangible one, but a memory and the marathon will be a feeling, but one I will have felt and known.

But, given my penchant for information, here’s a quick rundown of my marathon training season by the numbers.  We’re going to say marathon training officially started on November 1st, because that’s when I officially started keeping track:

Months of training: 5 1/3

Days of training: 161

Days spent running: 49

Days at the gym/crosstraining: 43

Total days training doing something vaguely physical: 93

Miles run: 403.35

Miles rowed: 3.1

Achilles tendons with tendinitis: 2

Pairs of running shoes purchased: 4

Pairs of spandex tights I never thought I’d be caught dead in: 2

Pairs of shoes completely blown out: 1

Mac-n-cheeses eaten at the Publick House with Ally: 3

Pairs of Valentine’s Day boxers bought: 1

Races run: 5

Days spent with anxiety:  So far, 1.

A week to go.  A week to go!  I hope you’re all as excited for this as I am.  I take that back, it’s impossible.  But, I hope you’re still excited for me.  I will be posting my bib number shortly as well as a few different ways you can track my progress the day of the race.  It’s going to be good.

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

