Getting in the Habit

A quick Google search will tell you that, on average, it takes 66 days for a new habit to form. I’m assuming people aren’t referring to smoking or meth addiction when they’re looking to form a habit. Rather, looking to change their lives in a positive way, probably by changing a lifestyle and becoming healthier.

A few weeks ago I wrote that my sister was training for a half marathon, and that I had ‘committed’ to running with her on long runs eyeing the marathon distance for the same race. My sister has been incredible at executing on the training runs I laid out for her. Running is becoming a habit. I, on the other hand, have been a little lackluster coach and trainer. I’ve missed a long run, and late in the season rediscovered my love for skiing. But, the ski season is winding down, after this next blast of winter weather, I’m hoping spring will take hold in Boston and I can double down on my commitment.

I spent two days this weekend abusing my legs. On Saturday I spent all day with Katie in New Hampshire honing her skills on the slopes and then on Sunday went for a run with my sister. I was exhausted yesterday and half thought about canceling on my sister — but I knew I couldn’t so I ran over and we went for a nice, albeit, cold ruin to Jamaica Pond and back. Lara had unfortunately fallen on some black ice earlier that day and was starting to feel that during our run. When she suggested shortening our 6ish mile run, I was all for it. We had a delicious (and carb rich) shepherd’s pie last night for dinner with Katie and Peter to anchor down a low key St. Patrick’s Day.

I had designed the run we went on to be shorter than the previous two weeks. Even though she was hurting and tired, Lara’s endurance level is already way beyond where it was when we started. My point in shortening it was to prove she had come far, that 6 miles wasn’t an obstacle anymore. Without the black ice incident I’m confident we could have gone the distance and finished strong.

Next week the march to double digits really gets underway with an 8 mile run. You ready, Lara?

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting in the Habit

  1. Lara says:

    I AM!!! Lets go 13.1!

Leave a Reply

