Next Crazy Venture Beneath the Skies

Lehigh Valley Marathon is out, BAA Half Marathon is in. 

I want to run another marathon.  I wanted this to be that next marathon.  But, a number of factors conspired to not make it feasible.  Mainly, time.  I just don’t have the time to commit to a solid marathon training schedule.  If I’m going to do something, I want to do it right, I want to throw everything I have into it, like I did with Boston, test my limits, and see how fast I can go.  That just wasn’t going to happen with my schedule.  I’m also moving for the fifth time in Boston the weekend prior.  When I initially signed up, my expectation was that I would be staying in my current apartment.  But, that’s not the case.  I’m looking forward to getting my new home on Beacon Street together and enjoying that first weekend there.

But!  I did manage to get in to the BAA Half marathon.  This year the race sold all 12,000+ spots out in something like 13 minutes.  Where I couldn’t commit to hardcore marathon training, I can put things into a higher gear for a half.  I’m starting to incorporate my hill work, speed drills, and plyometrics in to my workouts.  I also talked a few co-workers and my friend Angela (of Mass Dash fame) into signing up, as well.

Speaking of higher gears…I was also strong armed into riding for Team Morgan Stanley during the Rodman Ride for Kids at the end of September.  I committed to riding 50 miles.  Which should be interesting.  Very interesting. I have not been on a bike in over 13 years.  And even then, it was a BMX bike, and I never rode more than the two miles from my house to the pizza place in town and back.  I also have legs that a chicken would shake its head at.  What I’m saying here is that this won’t be easy.

That’s it for now!

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

