Just Like That

One email and just like that-my mind is rewired. I’m looking at the calendar and plotting long runs, hill work, speed work. Loops with water fountains, bathrooms, views and vistas, shade, definitely shade. Around ponds, reservoirs, along the esplanade, down Beacon, across Commonwealth, and hitting my stride when I know I still have miles to go.

Reading race reports, recaps, going through blogs 6 years back. Looking at course maps, watching videos, Yelping places to get burgers and beers in the city of Chicago, where I’ve only seen the inside of an airport.

Eyeing the soles of my shoes, do I need new ones? I need more socks, smartwool, and tech shirts. Stocking up on Gu and where did that handheld water bottle go? Getting reacquainted with coconut water, protein bars, and the endless search for calories.

Looking forward to naps, cold showers, sunset runs, outrunning the T from Hynes to Coolidge Corner, the feeling that moves swiftly from cannot to can just from turning on to the next street.

Hello lactic acid, old friend. Seeing people running after you’ve already run and feeling the need to tell them that you yourself had run. Why? I don’t know. ¬†Compulsion, pride, being part of the tribe.

There is spring and summer and autumn and in between I’ll go from this initial excitement to frustration, elation, exhaustion and energy. But then there will be a start line and then a finish line, and it going to be great. Again.

image

 

About Graham Runs Boston

Bostonian running around Boston. Team RaceMenu distance runner. Oyster appreciator, beer lover, outside all the time when I can, loosely pursuing a BQ
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Like That

  1. Lara says:

    Love this! I always feel the compulsion to tell runners I’ve already run when they pass me. I’ve yet to do it though. That would be weird.

Leave a Reply

